In his Honolulu Advertiser column, Island Sounds, music critic Wayne Harada wrote: "This is vintage stuff, from the vaults of Hula Records, reissued as part of the label's Legendary Classic Series. You have to be pretty senior to know Auntie Aggie and her Makaha Serenaders, who were a radio an hotel staple for years.

The songs, and the delivery style, are clearly from a bygone era, when vocal ensembles were true troubadours. The performers are long gone – Auntie Aggie died Oct. 3, 1977, at age 55 – so the archival melodies serve as a tribute and a primer...It's old fashioned, old-style, hula-oriented music, with precise rhythms, tempos, enunciation, delivery..."

Kimo Alama Keaulana, hula master and Hawaiian music historian adds, "Auntie Aggie and her handpicked singers and musicians really knew the true Hawaiian way of singing and playing...[Auntie's] musical and vocal interpretation of [these songs was] faithful to their original intent; her phrasing and pronunciation of Hawaiian, impeccable, and the rhythm and tempo, just great – especially for the hula!"

The CD foldout includes Hawaiian lyrics, English translations, biographical information about the artist, the importance of songs to Hawaiians, and a tribute to a special hula lady: superb liner note writer, Jean "Kini" Sullivan.

Album Tracks:

(press play to hear samples)

  1. Rain Kilikilihune
  2. Ho'ohenoheo A'o Pi'ilani
  3. Kau'ionalani
  4. Venus
  5. Ka 'Oni A Ka Moku
  6. Puna Ku'u Aloha
  7. Makawao
  8. The Slopes of Mauna Kea
  9. Hanohano Olinda
  10. Na U'i O Kaua'i
  11. Beautiful 'Ilima
  12. Kuhihewa

Item CodeSunset At Makaha
Price$12.95 EA
Unit of Measure

Copyright 2014 HULA RECORDS®. All Rights Reserved.
Powered by OBS -